また、掲示板上で誹謗・中傷を受けた場合は、速やかにサイト管理者までご連絡をお願いいたします。→連絡先
カナダへの道(移民申請)
カナダのワークビザ、カナダ移民、カナダ移住、結婚移民、カナダ市民権申請。
カナダに住む為の手続きに関する話題はここで情報交換しましょう。
新規投稿される方は、こちらへ(アイコンの説明もあります)
No.4188
I’m puzzled. the definition of common-law
by maple relief from トロント 2005/03/05 17:00:38

I’m an applicant of Permanent Resident Status in Common-law Class in Canada. After having lived with my partner for more than one year, I considered applying for PR.
I submitted my application in June 2004. In May 2004, one month before submitting application for PR, my partner and I started gathering required documents and made Statutory Declaration of Common-law Union and opened our joint bank account etc.

Nine months have passed since I applied. I’ve received a couple of letters from CIC asking me to provide more information that shows our common-law relationship is genuine and continuing.
The last letter I got a couple of days ago says, “Living at the same address does not show proof of a common-law relationship.” “Please provide proof of at least one year prior to the submission of your application for landing in June 2004.”
I was puzzled. I checked CIC website (manuals and regulations) to find out what the definition of common-law is. Seemingly we are not recognized as common-law partners yet. ??? I guess I sent my application too soon. I think I might have to withdraw. Does anyone have the same or similar experience?
I’d like to know if you opened your joint account or took insurance under both of your names or made a statutory declaration of common-law document or did anything to be recognized you are in common-law relationship officially at least one year before submitting your application.

Res.1 by jjj from us 2005/03/06 17:47:26

I am applying permanent residence under skilled worker with my partner in common-low relationship.

Here are list of document that our lawyer requested.

a) joint ownership of property, joint utility bills, lease/rental agreements, joint mortgage/loan.